Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

Lapping the head to repair a head gasket comments thread

38K views 145 replies 32 participants last post by  jkv357 
#1 ·
exactly how effective is this technique for lapping the head and barrells?

can it go wrong?

Dale

#3 ·
I have heard some people use a piece of granite tile, DO NOT DO THIS, I have been a granite installer for many years (father has a tile co. brother has a tile co. uncle has a tile co. you get the picture) and never have I seen a piece of granite tile that is perfectly flat, ever..

#4 ·
Hey Tile person, Question. Years ago I had Granite kitchen counters installed and I had a time finding a co. that had the equipment to do this. Apparently a large CNC mill using diamond tools. Down here in Mountain Home, AR there are a least 5 companies in this business.Has the cost of this equipment suddenly dropped?

FOG

#7 ·
I agree, but the thing is they dont use the mechine themselfs, they order the granite in "raw" slabs. They are usually 8-12 feet across, polished on one side and have no definite shape.

they then cut it to fit the customers needs, they use a profile wheel to shape the edges and then polish them.

#8 ·
solar-ex said:
I have heard some people use a piece of granite tile, DO NOT DO THIS, I have been a granite installer for many years (father has a tile co. brother has a tile co. uncle has a tile co. you get the picture) and never have I seen a piece of granite tile that is perfectly flat, ever..
I did this a couple of months ago. So far, no problems, but I did have to sort through some tiles with my straight-edge until I found a good candidate.

#9 ·