Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

Lapping the head to repair a head gasket comments thread

38K views 145 replies 32 participants last post by  jkv357 
#1 ·
exactly how effective is this technique for lapping the head and barrells?

can it go wrong?

Dale

#28 ·
Sorry to dig up an old thread, (why isn't this stickied?). 1990 EX500, 22k miles, very well abused by po's, po's, po's, no telling how many.

After leaving it sitting with oil in the cylinders from a compression test (100 psi max both cyls) 4 days ago, I noticed that same oil seeping out between the head and the cylinder body today... :p So, it's a no brainer, I've got to do the head gasket, valves etc.

I'm not a mech noob, but I am a ex500 noob. Can the head assembly be removed without removing the entire engine from the bike?

Also... re painting with whatever color.. referring to painting the new head gasket itself?

Finally a reason to clean out my basement work shop.

Thanks in advance.

#29 ·
Yes the head And cylinders can be removed in the bike. Re use the old head gasket by cleaning it with laquer thinner and steel wool till it shines. Then re spay a single coat of any color paint on each side No 2 coats will not be better.

Lap bot the head and cylinders Critical

FOG

#30 ·
I need to do this and I have a question. In the pictures with the write up it looks like what is under the cylinder head where the pistons go has been removed as well(sorry i don't know the name of that part of the motor). Would it be ok to lay the lapping plate on top of that part while its still attached to the bottom of the motor? My idea would be, lay the cylinder head on the lapping plate and lap it. Then put the lapping plate on the motor part with a weight on top of it to apply pressure. Then move it back and forth while twisting(to get closer to a figure 8 motion).

Would doing that to the bottom part be advantageous or do you really have to remove it as well to accomplish an improvement?