Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had someone give me a 1994 EX-500 that was in running condition when they parked it a few years ago. At the time they said they were having "ignition and battery charging" problems. At this point that's about all I have to go on.

I haven't picked the bike up yet - I'll be doing this over the weekend.

I am a former NIASE certified mechanic, so I'm not concerned about my ability to fix things. I was more curious to know if there are any issues with the ignition/charging system on this model year that I might want to be aware of. I know that the ignition is solid-state on this model, according to my research, so I guess the one thing I really want to know is if the parts are expensive.

I expect to go completely throught the bike when I get it. No doubt if it's been sitting for a long time the fuel system is cruddy as will be the cooling and brake system, too.

If anyone wants to toss out anything else to watch out for on this particular model year, I would really appreciate it. I'm going to be spending some time sifting through the forums to see what information I can pick up as well.

Thanks in advance to all,

LWB

·
Registered
3,881 Posts
The mechanics will chime in shortly.
I don't recall reading any chronic problems with mechanicals/electricals for this bike.
The bike has been made for 20+ years with minimal changes, so there are used parts available via e-Bay, etc.

Other...
Lube the speedo cable & then locktite it.
Get a fuel filter for it.
Uses WalMart Supertech ST7317 filter (There are other good filters too, this one is $3).
Consider the FOG airbox mod, & pilot screw mod. (Go to homepage, then use search)

Welcome!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks a bunch! I really appreciate it!

I am looking forward to getting my hands on this bike. I need a good summer project.