Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well there are already plenty of threads/posts about aftermarket exhausts and what not. but my bike runs pretty crappy i have a muzzy 2-1 exhaust (guy had it done that i bought it from) wondering if someone could check out/help with my bike as some people said to do a jetkit and others said do not. i have seen a couple posters in the pitt area. also to help with a fender eliminator/dogbones, etc. basically there are a lot of things i wanna do/need done with it and would appreciate if anyone near pittsburgh knows what they're doing and are willing to help a bike noob out. it's an 04' 500

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
to be honest, i haven't looked at the carbs since i got the bike, and when i say i'm a noob, i really mean it. lol. it rides lean/rich (forget which is which) it pops when i let out the throttle, and the bike runs crappy at times. i would basically need someone to look it over that knows what's what. and be able to help me adjust this and that, or totally re jet the bike. i need that done first, but i wanna do some other mods later on

·
Premium Member
25,165 Posts
It's probably your pilot jets. you have to remove them and clean them until you see light through them. the popping on decelleration is nothing to get worked up about. it's quite normal. it's because of the PAIR system. it would pop with stock cans on too, you just wouldn't hear it. while you have the carbs off, install a fuel filter. that will help keep the pilots clean.

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks for the advice. what should i do when i change my air filter then? get a stock or a kn high flow filter? fuel filter as well, can i get one online? or should i go to the stealership and see if they have them

·
Premium Member
25,165 Posts