Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! I am brand new to this forum and just bought a 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 500r. I am so frustrated with it at the moment. When I took it out to ride last night it basically wouldn’t start. The starter would just buzz every time I would try to start it. I looked online and it looked like a dead battery so I went and got a new one. When I was connecting it, I forgot that I had the kill switch on and the right terminal sparked a bit before I connected it. As of now, none of my lights will turn on. I’m so stuck on what to do. Any help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So does it sound like I might have blown a fuse man? I’m not too experienced with working on motorcycles, this is my first time doing maintenance on a bike. I saw online that the fuse box sometimes has an extra fuse in it? Could I use that one to fix it if one of them is burned out?

·
Moderating: Fair & Just
7,610 Posts
Could I use that one to fix it if one of them is burned out?
You can, assuming that one is not blown. It shouldn't be blown, but stranger things have happened. All the fuses in the fuse box are 10 amp.

·
Registered
2,597 Posts
hi just re-read your first post. something is not right.
I forgot that I had the kill switch on and the right terminal sparked a bit before I connected it.
the kill switch has nothing to do with it. it has no bearing on the terminal sparking (no power goes through it providing the ignition switch is off) the ignition switch was turned off right.
if not then you could have blown the main 30amp fuse (it's on top of the solenoid) or got a short somewhere or you tried connecting the battery leads the wrong way round.
anything is possible if you know very little about bikes. but check the main fuse first.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·