Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm still really new at this, but it's time to replace the ancient tires on my bike. Knowing what a fraught question this will be, what's the "best" tires for a newbie? In this case, best doesn't mean high performance at a race track, but maybe safe handling in different conditions (dry and wet), high stability, not too finicky, and easy break-in. I was considering Pirelli Sport Demons but they seem too "advanced", plus the possibility of shaking/vibration issues at some speeds with my 25 year old bike....

·
Registered
2,389 Posts
hi, if tires are fitted correctly well balanced and the wheel alignment is correct there shouldn't be any vibration just caused just by the tires.
as for type softer compounds grip better but don't last as long. harder compounds last longer but take longer to warm up. how and when you ride will be a big factor also if you only ride in the summer and when it's dry you would be better with a linier summer type tire. if you ride all year round and in the wet one with a compound tread pattern would suit best.
I find Pirelli and Avon good all round tires but that's my choice the last Avon's were brilliant but didn't like white lines in the wet. Michelin B45's seen good all round tires with a good a tread pattern but some don't like them.

·
Border Kong
962 Posts
In my limited experience, when I bought my EX it came with Kenda tires. They were not exceptionally good, but they fulfilled the mission of taking me to and from the city without any problems.

When they became square, I changed them for Chinese-made ones (Promoto) which felt as if at any moment they were going to skid in the curves.