Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i just bought an 05 ninja with 2600 miles. at first it was dying after i started it and then after restart and a little gas it was fine. I was driving it tonight, and while waiting for a light that never turned green, it just shut off. started it up, fine. Got on the highway going about 65 and all of a sudden it started dying and jerking, came back, was fine. Did it again. ran fine. Then I got into the city and it started doing it in 3rd gear, going 35, it started jerking and throwing me around. It would accelerate, stop, then lurch forward then stop, so on and so forth. At that point, it was about all i could do to get it home. it started doing it immediately as i started accelerating in first, then second... I have no idea what it could be, i'm new to motorcycles and just want to get it working without worrying about dying on the side of the highway.

Also, i don't know if it's relevant but the lights dim and brighten when i rev the engine. battery problem maybe?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Maybe a dumb question but have u tried flipping it to reserve lol. Sorry if that sounds sarcastic but i've had that happen to me. I swore i wasn't out of gas until i looked :)

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
no problem, actually i filled it up completely this morning, only 18 miles on the tank. this has been going on for a couple weeks, well i've only riden it a couple days.

·
Registered
19,635 Posts
Tank filler cap not venting, causing fuel starvation. Worse when tank is full because of smaller air head above fuel level developes a vacume faster that a large head (empty tank) Clean the cap vent.

FOG

·
Premium Member
25,165 Posts
donkeyman said:
What's the best way to clean that said tank vent? And what do you clean, the cap and the area around the tank where the cap sits?