Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys I'm new to the forums. I recently bought an 06 500r with 9800 miles. The PO sat the bike for a year so I had the carbs redone completely at my local shop and it ran like new. 23 miles later I take her for a ride and after she warmed up I took the choke off and after coming to a stop I noticed I couldnt get the bike to go more than 5 miles an hour. I babied her home she jerked a bit of the way as well. I get no acceleration when I play with the throttle. the bike at a stop sounds fine and revs fine doesnt die but when put in gear and give her gas she struggles bad. any ideas?

·
Registered
714 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

Someone on here will soon tell you EXACTLY what's wrong! They know these bikes inside and out. (I'm still learning!)

·
Registered
806 Posts
First thing's first.

Is the throttle cable connected to the throttle plates on the carburetor? Is the cable in good condition?

Does the clutch cable work properly? Does the lever on the clutch cover return to its engaged position?

Next step when this is done.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Checked throttle cable looks great. Clutch seems fine too. Been raining here in cali so I could only do 1 circle in my parking lot this morning but seemed to run fine circling the lot cruising in 1st giving no throttle. couldnt open it up to really see what it would do though will have a chance this weekend once things dry up

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Was going to take it in this morning but sure enough shops closed til at least apr 19 to this virus bs. Will check a few things and update once its figured out if I can otherwise itll be a month

·
Super Moderator
14,500 Posts
how about offering a collective effort here, members? feel free to jump in but refrain from repetition.....