Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Super dumb question . I think i messed up major when it comes to putting the carb lines and fuel lines back together. And the petcock i bought. The one i bought only has a line for the fuel nothing else. Should i have bought the one with a line for fuel and vacuum I believe. I hooked up the gas tank breather to carb and didnt run it down below the bike like a dumbass 🤦‍♂️ Do you have a ex500? Can you tell me or show me a picture of where the carb hoses and gas tank hoses go so i can make sure i hooked everything up right. I know im a noob and your very well experienced. I have muchhhhh to learn. I should have took pictures beforehand. This could be also whats causing my bike to not start in the first place 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️ I will still charge battery and do all the other checks mentioned in the thread. But i gottttta make sure this hoses / lines are all routed correctly 😅

the pictures below explain what i mean about the petcock

Attachments

·
Registered
1,234 Posts
the petcock is fine you just have to remember to shut it off EVERYTIME you stop the bike. I have 2 EX's and neither of them have a vacuum operated one. I don't have any photos of the carb set up but it's simple enough.
on the front of the carbs (facing the engine) you have two joining rails the btm one (metal) is the fuel line from the tank goes straight to the rail from the petcock. the top one (plastic) is the carb vent leave this open you do not need a pipe on it just make it point downwards and leave it alone. the pipe coming out of the back of the tank is NOT a breather pipe but a water drain from the filler cap just tuck this down the back of the airbox somewhere.