Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody,
so I have a friend I graduated high school with who was a marine and was wounded in Iraq. As a result he lost portions of his fingers on his left hand, or at least, these are the only injuries that he sustained that he won't be recovering from. I had suggested he get a motorcycle rather rudely I'm thinking, because I didn't consider that he might struggle. He explained that he wanted to get one but his left hand couldn't operate the clutch. I didn't really think that was fair so I tried to come up with some ideas that could maybe help him out.
My idea was to basically take the clutch handle and turn it so that the handle is toward the inside of the handlebar such that he could use his palm to push the clutch in.
He had asked me if there was such a thing as a 'twist clutch.' I can only assume that it would operate the same as the throttle operates.

both of these ideas probably wouldn't work with clutches operated by a master cylinder, but I wanted to ask the brain trust here to see if anybody had a good idea that might work or can point my friend toward a company or specific product that may help him.

would it be possible to install a different kind of clutch so that there would be no need for a clutch handle, making it more like a fourwheeler? He doesn't own a bike yet so this is a fairly general request, not model specific.
anyway, post your ideas, my friend would greatly appreciate it.
thanks

·
Registered
19,366 Posts
A right foot clutch would be easy.
FOG

·
Registered
308 Posts
turning the clutch hande around wouldnt be a good idea. he would have a very hard time having any sort of control and would require a considerable ammount of pressure to work it.

im with fog, either make a new foot control lever or turn the rear brake armature into one for a clutch.