Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well i was looking for a 500 but a friend of mine put me in touch with someone selling a 2002 250. I know this is a 500 forum but since i am new to the motorcycle scene i thought I would ask the question and hopefully get some good advice.
1. is a 250 to weak (I am getting a bike for commuting in stop and go traffic 10 - 20 miles a day)
2. he is asking 1800 for a 2002 kawasaki 250 that has 5000 miles on it. is this too much? ( i went to the motorcycle blue book page and they sent me back email, but it only said what it was worth new in 2002 2,900 something like that.)

The only bikes i have rode in the past are 250 dirt bikes and recently a 250 07 yamaha enduro so i really cant compare with a 500.
Thanks for anyone who replies.

·
Registered
263 Posts
if mpg is important than 250 definitely has the advantage, we get around 50 mpg but 250s get 70-80mpg. pls correct me if i am wrong, i sometimes am.

·
Registered
6 Posts
dmccoy said:
2. he is asking 1800 for a 2002 kawasaki 250 that has 5000 miles on it. is this too much? ( i went to the motorcycle blue book page and they sent me back email, but it only said what it was worth new in 2002 2,900 something like that.)
Check NADA, www.nadaguides.com and Kelly Blue Book, www.kbb.com, the price may be high, depending upon where you live.

·
Registered
59 Posts
As far as power is concerned, I just got a 500 and it's definitely not "too" powerful to learn on. I find it very forgiving and I'm a beginner. I'm 200 or so, and it's quite gentle in low RPMs - I can tell though in the higher revs it's going to rock once I get through my breakin period.

Good luck.

Jon

·
Registered
1,165 Posts