Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Im a newbie in this forum and also to riding. My brother and I bought a 2007 Ninja 500R and wanted to know about the exhausts. I have done searches about them: D&D, Muzzy, and Sarachu were my final choices. I have heard clips of each one, but its hard to tell the difference. If you guys have any experiences with these exhaust, please rate them from 1 (quiet) being the stock sound to 10 (really loud).

D&D: 1-10?
Muzzy: 1-10?
Sarachu: 1-10?

Any information and opinions will be appreciated.

S

·
0 Posts
I have a D&D exhaust, going to have to give it a 11. I have yet to hear anything louder than my bike except maybe a v-twin with no baffle. Yes I will agree with FOG, it is a loud fart fart. The closet thing I can compare it to is a 4 stroke four wheeler "400 EX come to mind"

·
Registered
63 Posts
Sarachu are a beautiful pipe. Excellent quality, sound, and performance, plus they look awesome to boot. Muzzy isn't a bad pipe, But I'm partial to a dual pipe bike. They sound good.
D&D are a horrible pipe. They are obnoxiously loud and gross sounding, plus 9 times outta 10, they rob you of power and tourque. I don't know about on the 500, But they do on just about every other bike.

Brad

·
Registered
3,881 Posts
Pittsburgh Ninja said:
i have a muzzy, i get compliments on it a lot at lights by fellow riders/or at a gas sation etc.
Remember that most folks were raised to not say anything if they can't say something nice. So your anecdotal list of fellow bike rider's comments needs to be shored up w/ opinions of people who aren't cyclists. Compare loud sounds w/ the other senses

Glare- Most of us don't like it when people shine lasers in our eyes, or new stadium lights into our neighborhoods, or drive with their brights on.