Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
I just installed a set of the BRG (brgracing.com) sliders on a 2006. On this year, they are NOT "no cut", but all that was needed was a simple hole saw to the lower fairing in the right spot.

If anyone is interested I'll post photos. You almost don't need a how-to on this, but some better pictures than those they had on their site might be a plus. Already laid it over in the garage to see if they actually protect everything and they do (assuming you tossed the stock front signals). Even with the front signals on there is enough flex in the rubber base that it probably wouldn't be a disaster.

They are a little pricey, but less than half the cost of new front fairings alone.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I'm new to riding and have a question...

If you put frame sliders or even an engine cage, and you wreck, isn't there a much better chance of bending the frame? Isn't the impact going to be concentrated on the point where you mount the slider or cage?

I understand that plastics are expensive, but isn't a frame swap much more of a pain?

I've condidered some protection from light drops, but my designs involve a support rail going all the way through the frame to the other side, so the impact is spread out. Am I missing something here?

·
Registered
75 Posts
I just installed the BRGs (that had been sitting on the workbench for about a year). I was planning on cutting just a hole, but wanted it to be easy to take the fairing off without removing the sliders...

[attachment deleted by admin]

·
Registered
376 Posts
Nice job. very clean. What r they made out of? HDPE? I think A fella could put a longer mount bolt with a 4"-6" round stock of HDPE machined to fit on the ends of the new bolt? Or r they more than involved than that?

·
Registered
75 Posts