Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i get about 35 mpg on mostly short(less than 10 miles), in-town rides/commutes.

is this normal?

·
Registered
39 Posts
i commute everyday little more than 10 miles, i'm a semi-agressive driver and get 190 - 200 miles per full tank, give or take 50 mpg so something is wrong with you bike :)

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i usually dont get past 3rd for the most part when in town on commutes to work...rpm around 5k to 6k.

i havent check the air filter and im sure there is no gas leak.

not sure what shape the plugs are in. i got the bike in july for less than a $1000 and it came with a minus one in front and kerker exhaust and is jetted ( previous owner siad stage two kit). also, the rear wheel is a 17 with 180/55 tires. does that also affect mileage?

it does run smooth and hard though.

·
Premium Member
25,165 Posts
I'll bet you could light the tail pipe on fire with that stage 2 jet kit.

WHAT THE HELL?! 180/55 tires?!! That CAN'T be right... there's something VERY wrong with your bike. The -1 will make your MPG drop for sure.

Are you SURE this is an EX500?!

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
pretty sure its an ex500.. ;D.

about the tires...its using a zx6 swingarm. als, is there such a thing as a stage 2 jet kit?

im a noob who just started riding in july. dont know enough about bikes.

·
Premium Member
25,165 Posts
sure, there's such a thing as a Stage 7 jet kit.

Are you sure the person you bought it from knew what they were doing? Are you sure the exhaust system NEEDS the larger jet? All it's doing is making the delivery system richer... Jet kits are used to tune out problems. Go back to stock jetting and see if things improve. Tune the pilot jets as well.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
thanks knight, i'll try that when i get a chance.