Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's what happened. Quite a few weeks ago, I lay my bike down on its left side while riding to work. It was a gentle lay down, and I picked up my bike right away. The next day, I lay down my bike again on its right (I am a total noob in anything motorcycle.) It was also a gentle lay down, and although the oil light came up at first, I did start the bike after a couple of tries and the bike seems to have no problem.

Being the total noob that I am, I didn't think much of it, and the bike seems to run fine. Although I did notice that from time to time, the engine pops ever so slightly from 4000rpm to 6000rpm. It seems the engine also runs hotter, but being a noob, I don't really know what is normal and what is considered wrong. The temperature gauge rises to horizontal position and for the most time stays there. If I stop at a light or in traffic, it climbs up some. Once I start riding, it goes back down to slightly below horizontal.

Well, today I thought I'd come back to the site and search around to see if I am just paranoid. Seems like I am not :-[ I guess I have gas in my oil now from searching through the site and reading others posts. I'll be doing an oil change the first thing I get back home.

Well, the question is, from the symptoms I described, does it sound like that is what happened to my bike? If so, are there anything else I should be doing to the bike other than the oil change? And have I damaged anything on my bike since I have rode it for a few weeks after the lay down?

Thanks in advanced for any help!

Tony

·
Registered
722 Posts
tokina said: