Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Ninja 500r
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody,

I'm a CNC Machinist living in Victoria, BC. I have recently purchased a 2003 ninja 500 as my first bike with 30,000kms for the low low price of 1500 canadian pesos, (~1200 USD) however it's a little rough around the edges which is perfect for me as I have been needing a project for some time now. I know my way around cars and dirtbikes and luckily I have nearly full access to the machine shop I work at and most of the machines contained within. Looking forward to gleaning knowledge from you all here and getting to work on these fun economical bikes.

·
Super Moderator
6,332 Posts

·
Registered
843 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

Search through the many threads on here as the answers to your issues will more than likely be addressed somewhere!

Great motorcycles to have and welcome to the riding world!

·
Super Moderator
15,167 Posts
^ your silver EX is far from requiring major surgery. Want to undertake a project? Start with a $50 boat anchor, turn it into this. Yes, its the same bike! My brothers Gen 1 1992. From boat anchor to desirable classic. Received every known Gen 2 upgrade.

1992 50 special.jpg

SAM_0793.gif

·
Registered
2003 Ninja 500r
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
WOW now that's a project... yes I will concede that my bike is not so much a project but rather a good running bike that I can learn the basics on while I ride it. Poor choice of words.

·
Super Moderator
15,167 Posts
I forgot to welcome you and do so now. Never intended to micro judge your post, and to add.... your nice silver EX also destined to become a classic keeper.
My .02.... always maintain mechanical condition to Kawasaki set standards, and (especially) keep stock appearance. These things ageing, good examples becoming somewhat rare now.

Reactions: UncleYar

·
Registered
1,135 Posts
Received every known Gen 2 upgrade.