Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy,

Well, it's snowing out and I'm bored as hell. I was surfing the web and found mid 90's ex500 for $200. It's obviously a parts bike. Very little description and only 2 pics. It has an engine, forks, both wheels, frame, battery wires... It prettymuch looks complete, except there's no exhaust system, fairings, seat or headlight bracket.

My spring break starts this friday and lasts 2 weeks, but all my friend's breaks begin the weekend mine ends. I'm gonna be borreeedddd. So I'm wondering about the feasability of trying to part out an ex500, and will I profit if it costs $200? It doesn't all have to happen in my 2 week break, but getting some of it done in that timeframe would be nice, then it can sit in my backyard under a tarp until summer.

Any comments and advice are welcome, I've got no experience in this sort of thing (but everyone starts somewhere, right). And: Dibs! No ripping this thing out from underneath me if you search it. :p

·
Registered
216 Posts
I bet you could make some money but it would be a huge pain in the ass in myopinion. I saw a recent early EX parted out and sold on Ebay and 90% of the parts had zero bids.

·
Registered
16 Posts
This is something that I have thought about a couple of times. A friend of mine told me I could have an old Goldwing that was sitting in his yard if I were willing to cart it away. I did a little research and found that there was certainly a demand for parts for these bikes.