Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I recently got interested in motorcycles and am looking to get my first bike. I have decided on the Ninja 500R. This is my first time buying any vehicle, never had a car either so I don't really understand fully the whole process behind purchasing one so I've a few questions. First is the obvious one, since the MSRP listed on Kawasaki's site is $5049, what would be the average price about that I could knock try to knock a dealer down to, and what would be considered a "ripoff"? I do want a new one, not used just because I prefer to know that it was never abused, as well as not knowing really what to look for regarding what could be wrong.
The other thing I am somewhat confused about is insurance coverage for the bike. I don't understand fully what types of coverage (comprehensive, etc) I would need as well as what amounts would be appropriate? Obviously I don't want to end up spending a fortune on insurance and the quote I got from Geico was just over $5,000. I figure it's mostly just because I don't know what to chose on the quote form for each box. ???
The last thing I've been wondering is, I know gloves and full face helmet are highly recommended, what else is essential in the beginning to have? And what could I get in the future, say a couple months down the road once I have a little more money available? I was thinking for now I could get by with having the helmet, gloves and just wear an old leather jacket with thick jeans. Would this be fine or am I missing something?
Any input is greatly appreciated as I don't have parents I can ask these kind of questions to and I don't really know who I can go to to get honest answer I can trust so I figured I'd start here. I just can't wait to get my own bike, I've spent the last month absorbing pretty much all information I could find on the subject.
-Jeff

·
Registered
14 Posts