Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
87 ex500
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
to start with, ive got an 87 ex500, with 27k miles on the clock, with nothing done except a gen2 CCT. it runs really well, but has what seems like the "typical" knock like sound at idle. My urge to 'tinker' is acting up, and from reading various posts on the forum, i understand that there are no real performance mods to be done (except the FOG airbox mod), but my question is this: I'm thinking of either acquiring a second engine/trans or just using my current motor, and cracking it open on the bench over the winter for a full rebuild- new bearings, piston rings, etc.... just replacing anything that looks worn type project; to bring the motor/performance back up to 'like new condition'.

I'm a mechanic of 26 years, and really want to rebuild a motor, but haven't found "the right one" (so i dont end up with and engine with no project to put it in). Ive googled around a little bit, but i havent really seen any 'rebuild kits' for our motors. I love the 500, and i plan on owning it for at least the next 3-5 years.

is this a reasonable expectation/plan in regards to parts availability? or are we past the point when "NOS" parts are readily available?

or should i just ride it til it dies and find a different bike to tinker on?

dont have a good day, have a great day!

·
Moderating: Fair & Just
7,609 Posts
I still think it's worth it in this day and age. I'm not really sure the one you have is in need of a rebuild. As far as I know all engine parts are available. You will want a Kawasaki Factory Service Manual (no substitutions) before doing this.
I say go for it! Even if you acquire a different used engine to rebuild.

·
Fast Old Guy
20,072 Posts
No “kits” are needed. You will need
1/2 mm os rings
bearings for rods and mains to suit the marking codes( this is why you need the factory manual)