Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I was hoping to get some practice in before it started raining around here, but looks like my luck ran out as it's raining now and through the weekend. I freely admit that I'm new to it, so I'm hoping for a few tips on riding in the rain from the more experienced crowd. My mechanic told me that when he took the bike around the block, he had a hard time keeping the rear tire from slipping. The tread is almost new, it's just a lot of torque for such a light bike.

Anyways, things I'm most worried about is the rough roads (it's construction season) and one of the bridges I have to take is steel mesh, not concrete. It's even a little "wiggly" in my car, makes me a little nervous. Other than slowing down a bit, and making sure I leave more space as best I can, what else should I know? Tips? Tricks? Things that have cought you?

Thanks guys, I appreciate the help.

--Noob

·
Registered
722 Posts
be extra careful with your downshifting is one I can think of. I got a little squirley on my first ride in the rain on wednesday.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Stay away from the rear brake. Whatever you do, do it smoothly and deliberately.

Stay extra vigilant for tailgaters and other idiots on the road, not only is your stopping distance increased, so is theirs. Leave yourself more time to react to threats.

And try to stay dry!

·
Registered
19,363 Posts
All of thee above.

Plus don't even think about crossing that steel bridge in the wet. Unless your walking along side the bike,

FOG

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
FOG said:
All of thee above.

Plus don't even think about crossing that steel bridge in the wet. Unless your walking along side the bike,

FOG
That could be a problem as it's the only access to where I need to go other than adding 2+ hours to the commute (no, that's not an exaggeration) by going around.