Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all!

For a little bit about myself, I'm a mechanic in north-central IL. I've been riding off and on since I was 16 (now 34). Most of the riding I've done as an adult has been cross country tours on a V-Strom 650 and later on a Versys 1000LT. In the past couple years I've gotten into track riding a bit. I purchased a Ninja 300, promptly crashed it at the track and have put it back together into hideous but working order. Problem is, at 6'1", it's quite cramped for me. So to fix that problem...

I just picked up a '94 EX500 yesterday for cheap and have plans of making it my next track bike. It's got about 29k on the clock and is in rough but rideable condition. It runs and shifts well but the suspension is pretty much sacked and the front brake has got something going on with the pushrod or lever. It squeaks and is tough to pull at first.

The plan is to spend the winter tearing the bike down, inspecting things, doing maintenance/repairs and rebuilding the suspension. I'm planning on doing springs and emulators in the front and replacing the rear shock. This is just a track day build, not a race bike, so budget is the primary concern (I'm not inclined to buy a Penske). On my Ninja 300 I swapped the rear shock out for a unit off an '07 GSXR750. This took minor modification of the shock, some spacers and longer dog bones. I was wondering if anybody knew if this was a possible swap for the 500 as well. I've seen some threads that the 300 shock fits the 500. Would it stand to reason that the GSXR shock would also fit the 500?

Also, if anybody has any recommendations for clip-ons or rearsets, that'd be greatly appreciated.