Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2007 EX500
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All !

I recently picked up a 2007 EX500 from a friend - Great shape, always garage kept with 5500 miles. Unfortunately, it's been sitting for 7+ years, with all fluids in it. First trick was getting the fuel tank open (a little WD40 and some patience got it !) Talk about sour fuel! Anyway, I'm in the process of getting it back up and running. Full carb clean/rebuild(Got Ducatiman's kit), cooling system flush/fill, brake flush/fill, oil change, etc, are all coming up.

If anyone knows of EX500 specific things I should check for the "resurrection project", I'd appreciate it.

I've been working on bikes as a hobby for about 40+ years, so I do have some skills.

·
Registered
2,384 Posts
hi and welcome, nah nothing specific I can think on just about the same as any bike designed in the 1980's (2007 is the same bike with a few improvements) just the usual bike stuff brakes fork seals, might be worth looking at the rear suspension bushes and pins. new tires (at least 7yo) and a valve adjustment might be needed should be done every 7k (or sooner) will probably never have been done since new.

·
Premium Member
3,866 Posts
Welcome! If you've been messing around with bikes for so long you'll find the ex-500 pretty easy to work on and a lot of fun to ride once you're done. I second the valve adjustment recommendation. It's important but it's so often overlooked. I would change the air filter too. It's probably turning to mush by now.

·
Registered
2007 EX500
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·