Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i ride a 2001ex and have only been riding for a few moths. I bought the bike a few moths ago and owner said it had been sitting for about 2 years. Runs pretty rough and I can definetly tell it needs a tune up(actualy bringing it to the shop tommorow or monday). The bike lacks power but still revs through 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear just fine but seems like when in fouth the bike loses power and rpm's wont go past 5000. Even with the throttle all the way open it wont rev anymore the bike actually has more speed in 3rd than 4th. I am getting it checked out soon but was wondering if anyone knew what could be wrong(hopefuly nothing major) so i know what to expect from the shop. as you can tell i am new to bikesso thanks for any help.

S

·
0 Posts
Any chance you tried putting the bike into 5th or 6th gear? that might let you narrow the issue down to transmission...just a guess.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah same deal, in 5th dont know about 6th though
anybody know if it sound like its running on one cylinder

·
Registered
169 Posts
does the bike seem revlimited, like it has trouble getting up to 10k?

a bike running on both cylinders will be really revhappy, with a grab-you-by-the-seat-of-your-pants powerband
a bike on only one cylinder won't have that

If it's running on one cylinder, it'll sound unhappy and will be well, half as fast.

this was my experience with my old ninja, which switched between firing on one or both cylinders.

·
Registered
549 Posts