Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm new to the EX-500 and I'm having some trouble with mine. I picked up a 2009 with 25k miles on it that had been sitting for a while. The seller managed to get it running, but it would die below ~1400 RPM. The engine sounded fine given the time it had sat (and it was cold). Brought the bike home and had no luck getting it to start. So, I did the following:
  • Change all fluids
  • New battery
  • Remove and clean carb bowls and jets, adjust pilot to 2.5 turns (bike has FOG mod). The jets were grimy but not too clogged. All the seals were in good shape and nothing leaking. Needle valves seated well and were in good shape.
  • Replace spark plugs (old ones were fouled with carbon)
  • Adjust valve clearances (none were very far out of tolerance) and clean up valve cover gasket

I've still had no luck getting the bike to show signs of life. Turning it over with the airbox off, I see fuel coming up from the carbs and you can smell the gasoline in the air. I've checked that the spark plugs are indeed sparking blue. With everything assembled, I can feel the airbox sucking in air and can smell the smell of an engine. I'm waiting on a new compression tester, but everything feels normal when turning it over by hand. I've tried turning it over with the throttle in varying positions and make sure to give it time to avoid flooding, but nothing seems to make a difference. The petcock vac line is on the left carb and the PAIR vac line is on the right. I've also verified that the carb bowls are getting plenty of fuel. My best guess now is that the carbs may be flooding or the spark plugs are somehow not working right (assuming there is compression). The timing components all line up correctly (checked during valve adjustment).