Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I'm new to ex500's. Just bought one for my wife to learn on and she's coming from dirt bikes so not entirely new.

Anyways, I picked up a titled 2008 ex500 for a whopping $400. I'm good at bargaining but also this bike had a no-start issue and was thefted and returned under the last owner. The ignition switch was screwed up but the previous owner bought a cheap replacement that seems to work fine.

Here's what I know:
• Battery is dead, but I have it hooked up to a mobile jump-start which should be giving it enough juice.
• With jump-start connected I can get the starter to turn and can feel compression.
• I thoroughly cleaned the carburater.

...and then this...
• After all that I decided to look for spark, and there was no spark.
• I tested the coils for ohm resistance and both phases give me feedback so I think the coils are good.
• I tried checking the stator but not really too sure how to go about that with a multimeter...so I didn't check it really.
• Checked the starter-relay and that seems good.
• Checked all the fuses. (A bunch of 10 amps that are all intact)
• I hooked up a spark tester and still not spark.
• I just purchased a new CDI on eBay today because I heard these bikes have issues.

So, is there anything else I should do/check on this bike to help resolve the spark issue? My wifes birthday is on the 31st of this month so I'd love to surprise her with this thing running if possible.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Just my two cents but it seems to me the no spark is the best place to start for now.