Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
496 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, im new to riding. been riding for a grand total of four days (maybe 5 hours total..). I love it, its a blast. im starting to feel out the countersteering. really is amazing. came across a corner today that kinda threw me for a loop.

traveling on a road at about 40 mph, saw my turn (90* right hander)..downshifted, and entered corner, at a very manageable speed (no more than 25 mph, as i still am not THAT great at tight corners.) anyhow, the corner goes from a flat road, to a hill. so its a tight, uphill corner. man, i leaned into it ever so slightly, seemed ok, but as soon as the slope came on, i went WAY wide ( didnt quite cross lanes, but close). Should i treat this as a increasing radius? or is there a better way to attack this? (im gonna keep driving this corner til i get it 100%)

on the other side, i had a nice decreasing radius corner, that was downhill. man. just flet so effortless in that corner...well, aside from the nice pothole at the end.lol..

but yea, if you guys can share any links, tips, that would rock!

·
Registered
2,526 Posts
Never outrun your line of sight. <= Be sure you can always come to a full stop on the portion that you can see.

Drive as if you were invisible (no ones sees you anyways) ;)

C

·
0 Posts
Back in the days before the internal combustion engine, when rail was king and FOG had just gotten his license, reputable physicians speculated that humans would not be able to travel faster than 40 mph because such extreme velocities would surely make our head explode.
Our evolution has not exactly kept pace with our technology, and one symptom is our eyesite tends to focus on points rather than ~flow~ which is what we need to be when 'looking through' corners.