Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
19,369 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding on the roads for something like 50 years. I can positively say I have never had an incident that wasn't my fault. That's a lot to say I know but let me explain.
I'm and engineer, always have been one, even as a kid. I mean I have a analytical type of mind that just has to figure things out. Applying this thought process to riding safety I was always able to forsee things that might happen. Every moment of a ride there is the potential for something to happen, being aware of everything around you is the first step.
Example: Famous excuse, "car turned left in front of me" . Well the way to avoid this is never let the circumstances of your position/speed make it possable for this to happen, if you don't, your putting your life in the other guys hands.

Consider your visibility factor and the time/speed/distance equation. that is be aware of how the other people on the road will judge your position and speed vis a vis them. (bikes are quick, if you fail to understand that the car driver may not appreciate that fact, your already in trouble).

Riding with others:
Always have a pre ride class room, or discussion. I mean serious stuff about how your going to ride today, Speed, following distance, side by side, don't be afraid to speak up and say I don't want to ride like that. Mostly be clear that everyone rides there own Motorcycle, and not be influenced by the behavior of the others.
Let me say here that I have ridden and still ride very fast on the road, but I do it safely by paying attention and keeping things under control.

Stepping down from Soap Box.

FOG

·
Registered
13 Posts
It's funny, I was just trying to explain this to a friend last night.