Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding my 250R for a couple of years now. It is my first bike. I ride my dad's Road Star (1600cc Yamaha cruiser) quite a bit too. I like the ease of handling the 250 and I'm a careful rider, but I frankly get tired of shifting so much to get going and to get around in traffic, and I'm not a big guy at all. I also find the seat pretty uncomfortable for longer hauls, though I have changed the grips and they feel great now. Of course, the Road Star is very comfortable because of it's size, but it is a lot of work in the stop and go stuff. I'm afraid the 500 won't be enough of a difference in torque and weight to get me the reduced shifting and smoother and more comfortable ride I would like (at a bargain price). I bet a lot of you have made this move, and I'd really appreciate hearing how it turned out. Thanks.

·
Registered
146 Posts
I just went straight to the 500. I have a friend with the 250 and the only reason he keeps it is because his family rides it as well. He told me I'd be bored with it very quickly as he was but it's economical. I agree. I like my 500. It suits me just fine. I get over 50mpg and it accelerates more than enough for the street. I find it much easier in twisties than larger sportbikes. That's just me though. Find one to test ride and make your own decision.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, the issue is really torque curve/shifting frequency and seat/crotch comfort after an hour or so.

I guess is just boils down to the ease of riding. A much broader torque curve and wider gear ratio would be greatly appreciated. My 250 is really peaky, and I hate wringing it's little neck to get into the power band. Is there a major difference there?

And just more overall smoothness and comfort is a pretty big deal for me too.

·
Registered
4,348 Posts