Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am not good with motors or knowing whats wrong with them. so here is my problem. Ok i have an ex500 and i have a weird noise coming from the engine. it sounds like a slapping type noise above the gear shifter in the motor. it inst there when i am out of gear and the bike is idling. when i put the bike in gear and start to move it starts, and when you accelerate there is a noticeable jerky feel until about 7000 rmp then the bike takes off and you don't feel it anymore. it is mainly there when you are just cruising and there is kind of a clank noise from the motor when you are letting the bike slow down in the gears with no break. the sound to the best of my ability sounds a bit like this, ta tap ta tap ta tap, sounds almost like a chain in the motor is slapping or something, the bike has no power loss at all, runs fine when your not in gear but just does all this when you are in gear and moving. any ideas? i posted in another forum and everyone said it was the primary chain but here is a pic of where the noise is coming from, in the red circle is where i hear it

[attachment deleted by admin]

·
Registered
19,367 Posts
OK that the generator (altenator) and the noise could be the magnets breaking up and stuck in the wrong places and causing the noise.

You can pull off that cover without harming anything there is no oil in there, to take a look. The problem is why only in gear? I think thats a white elephant.

FOG

·
Registered
17 Posts
Bendingspoon, did you ever figure this one out? Mine seems to be doing the same thing......I hear it at lower RPM's, lower MPH...once I get moving it goes away OR when I pull in the clutch.....no problems shifitng thru gears....no jerking

·
Registered
867 Posts
Rubber dampers in the rear wheel? could be getting on in age. like FOG :p....careful he's spunky

·
Registered
17 Posts