Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't think I have ever posted before, but I really think you guys have some pretty good input so I'm gonna throw this question out there. I have been riding my EX since last july...my first bike, so I'm by no means an expert in riding or giving advice, but I feel like I know a little more than I did before. I have this friend (seriously...) who, now that I ride, also wants to get into it. But in an effort to one-up both me and some of his other buddies (who are complete idiots) has decided that, after going through the MSF course next weekend and getting his license, that he wants to get an R6. Really, the guy wants to go shopping around this saturday.

It's too much bike for somebody who has never been on a bike before, right? We're not talking a returning rider who's getting back into it after 15-20 years. I mean, this guy has sat on my bike for 5 minutes...maybe got it into 2nd gear in a straight line...that's it. I tell him "dude, it's your first bike, not your last" but he doesn't want to go spend 3K this year only to have to sell it next year. I could care less about his buddies, but what do you all think I could say to convince him that a) there is nothing wrong with a 500cc bike to start off with (hell, I can blast by any cage on the road no problem) and b) he's getting in over his head with too much under the tank. Or maybe I shouldn't preach my philosophy and let him figure it out himself...hopefully with as little damage as possible. Your 2 cents is appreciated.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Did you let him know about the HUGE insurance difference?

If a person was that intent on buying a bike that they love, then they should get it...even if its an R6-alot of people do this and are still alive today. (but the vice versa is also true)

·
Registered
199 Posts