Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Which part of the vin tells the year of the bike?
my last four are 1881....would that be 81 or 88?
Thanks in advance

·
Registered
12,314 Posts
they didnt make an EX500 in 81. 87 was the first year

the 10th digit tells you the year. the last 6 digits are the production number (the first bike is was 000000.)

post your whole VIN and ill tell you what year it is.

·
Registered
261 Posts
dragknee said:
other than that though, there should be a sticker on the steering head that has the date of manufacture.
And the date is probably they year prior to the model year. For example, mine's a 91 but was manufactured in 90.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
On the neck mine says 8/91
I'm new to sport bikes. This one hadn't been ridden in a long time.
needs work. does'nt idle quite right. sometimes when I come to a stop the bike stills revs at 4 or 5 g's blipping the throttle does'nt help. Don't know if the cables are hanging up somewhere under the tank. needs tires, front brake pads. Fairing is cracked. probably gonna leave it off and look for signals to mount to fork tubes.
Also need front brake lever, mine is bent but still works. Need a right rear turn signal too.So I got little project here. any suggestions you guys have or tips would be great. Thanks, Eric

·
Registered
261 Posts
Sounds like a 92 then. As for the idle, maybe a choke problem?

·
Registered
1 Posts
FOG said:
The bike needs to go pee pee?

;D

SORRY! Couldn't help myself. :)

What, FOG, does #1 mean? Are you referring to damarble's choke comment?

·
Registered
348 Posts
FOG won't explain because he has full confidence that suckers such as myself will take the time to explain it ourselves. #1 = Plugged pilot jets, in FOGish. And I hope you didn't pay more than a Muzzy for that bike.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #11